On The Jogging Trail

About two weeks ago, I decided to take a stronger hold over my anxiety and depression and incorporated exercise into, what I am generously calling, my daily routine.

Each time I walk/jog but I vary what I do before and after- usually some combination of yoga, push ups, crunches, etc. But I find myself in a love/ hate relationship with jogging.

img_5237

As of right now, I’m still walking more than I jog but I push myself a little harder each time. I’ve already increased my average pace and yesterday I walked/jogged a mile in 12 minutes 34 seconds. Today, I went a little slower at 13 minutes 25 seconds. Even still, I’ve improved from the 14 minutes 34 seconds mile I (mostly) walked two weeks ago.

I have to keep reminding myself that progress takes time and that I can’t go from a couch potato to a strong jogger in only a couple of weeks. But the impatient American in me wants bigger, better results now. I want to see my stomach shrinking and I want to have a higher endurance so that I can last longer than 1.3 miles and be capable of more than short spurts of jogging in between catching my breath while I walk.

Even more than that, I want to last longer with this new self-care habit. I never keep up with all of my well-intended habits- exercising, meditating, all natural/ no sugar diet. I’m really hoping I can stick with jogging but the fact that it doesn’t yield quick results makes me worry I will quit before I get to see any results.

For now, I’m just trying to take it one day at a time and focus on how I feel when I exercise- healthy, calm, and happy.

Leave a Reply

