Rip Current

water tower

Photo Credit: Sonya, from Only 100 Words blog

This came out a little darker than intended!

Rip Current

I’m looking for safe harbor

but keep hitting rocky shores

The buoy that kept me afloat

isn’t there anymore

 

They took it out of water

Put it in the middle of the town

How is that to help me find

the land so I won’t drown?

 

I’m swirling through the darkness

of the salty tears in the sea

Letting the rip current’s hands

take their grip on me.

 

Pushing me down is the pressure

and suddenly I’m there,

where I’ve always dreaded:

the source of my nightmares.

 

https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2015/12/29/fffaw-week-of-12-29-2015/

2 thoughts on “Rip Current

Leave a Reply

